Notice is given that the following buildings: Arbury Hills School Frankfort Square School Indian Trail School Dr. Julian Rogus School Hilda Walker Intermediate School Summit Hill Junior High School Mary Drew Administration Center

Bill’s Landscaping will perform a weed/fertilizer application, as necessary, to the landscape and island areas of all District Schools beginning Friday, May 7, 2021 after 4 p.m. through Sunday, May 9, 2021 in compliance with the Integrated Pest Management Program developed by Summit Hill School District 161 in accordance with the USEPA and the IDPH. Questions should be directed to: Kevin Perkins kperkins@summithill.org


The mission of Summit Hill District 161, in collaboration with the family and the community, is to provide our students with the highest quality educational opportunities in a safe, supportive, and stimulating learning environment which will empower them to become productive global citizens and successful lifelong learners.

What is the Board of Education?

In Illinois, public education is the state's constitutional responsibility. The state delegates to local school boards the authority to govern school districts within the parameters set by state law. Boards are made up of seven school district residents elected at-large to serve terms of four years without pay. So, although the Board is politically responsible to District voters, it is legally responsible to the state.

Board of Education Duties

  • Deciding what shall be taught in the schools;
  • Hiring necessary personnel based on the Superintendent's recommendation;
  • Providing and maintaining school buildings;
  • Setting all contracts and paying bills; and
  • Arranging for revenue necessary to operate the District.

The Role of the Board

  • Adopt goals and policies that meet state requirements and reflect community needs;
  • Provide the resources necessary to pursue its goals according to its policies; and
  • Monitor District performance to see that results are consistent with goals and policies.