slider image

The summit - the highest point of a hill or mountain - symbolizes those who go a little further, offer a little more, and serve others above self to rise above the challenges and exceed expectations.
Starting with the 2022-23 school year, the Summit Hill School District 161 Board of Education will proudly present the Summit Award each month September through May to recognize those who give a little extra to make SHSD161 the very best school district for each and every student.
The award can be given to anyone: Summit Hill staff, students, parents, or community members, but nominations must be submitted by a SHSD161 employee or board member. Winners are listed below.  

Summit Award Winners

Lauren Neubauer, Special Education Program Coordinator | Districtwide September 2022
Kim Zylka, Coordinator of Student Support Services | Districtwide September 2022
Vivian Botros, ELL Teacher | Dr. Julian Rogus School October 2022
Francie Boss, Principal | Arbury Hills School November 2022
Rebecca Smith, Teacher | Summit Hill Junior High December 2022
Ed Johnstone, Custodian | Indian Trail School January 2023
Kelly Robinson, Social Worker | Frankfort Square School February 2023
Amelia Ruiz, Student | Hilda Walker Intermediate School March 2023
Matt Zemke, Assistant Principal | Summit Hill Junior High March 2023
Christine Coffey, Paraprofessional | Dr. Julian Rogus School April 2023
Jill Lewkow, Music Teacher | Hilda Walker Intermediate School April 2023
Vivian Beck, 8th Grade ELA Teacher | Summit Hill Junior High May 2023
Yorlyn O'Leary, Spanish Teacher | Summit Hill Junior High May 2023
Keith Milbratz, Bus Driver | Lincoln-Way Area Special Education District 843 September 2023
Eric Rehm, Music Teacher | Summit Hill Junior High September 2023
Brett Scheuber, Building Technician | Arbury Hills School October 2023
Timothy Schmelzer, Building Technician | Dr. Julian Rogus School October 2023
Jonah Schneider, Tech Teacher | Indian Trail School October 2023
Jackie Rico Dahl, Custodian | Hilda Walker Intermediate School November 2023
Julie Stearns, Director of Business Services | District Office November 2023